St. Theresa’s College of Cebu is a Catholic institution of learning founded by the Missionary Sisters of the Immaculate Heart of Mary (ICM) on June 1, 1933 upon the expressed invitation of Msgr. Gabriel Reyes, then Archbishop of Cebu. It offers all levels of instruction for girls from preparatory to college. The missionary spirit of the Foundress, Mother Marie Louise de Meester, permeates the whole program of education of the institution. This spirit is characterized by a sincere love of God, loyalty to the Church, a great respect for the dignity of man and a genuine personal concern and involvement in the lives of people, especially the poor, the deprived, and the oppressed. The institution first operated in Sikatuna Street, Cebu City while adequate school buildings were being erected on the present site, bounded by General Maxilom Avenue, Juana Osmeña St., Redemptorist Road and Ramon Aboitiz Street.

In 1935, the first years of the Liberal Arts, education and Commerce courses were added to the elementary and secondary levels. Gradually, the three courses were completed and fully recognized by the Bureau of Education in 1940. In1957, St. Theresa’s College Cebu City became a Charter Member of the Philippine Accrediting Association of Schools, Colleges and Universities (PAASCU) and has satisfactorily maintained its accredited status.


Teresa de Avila, the first woman doctor of the Church, is the patron saint of St. Theresa’s College. Her life and writings are eloquent proofs of the courage, wisdom and virtue which the institution desires to achieve in her students.


The official seal of St. Theresa’s College of Cebu is a round white shield dominated by the Latin cross, the base which spreads out like two wings encompassing its whole width. The cross stands for the Catholic Church whose doctrines, ideals, corum replica and principles permeate the school educational program of the Institution. The three stars stand for the three theological virtues: faith, hope, and charity. The inscription around the shield “VIRTUTE, SCIENTIA, ARTIBUS FLOREAT”, expresses the wish that under the aegis of Catholic education, virtue, science, and art may flourish in St. Theresa’s College. The college colors- blue and gold- stand for courage and love respectively.



  • Playgroup (3 years old)
  • Nursery (4 years old)
  • Kindergarten (5 years old)


  • Accountancy and Business Management (ABM)
  • Humanities and Social Sciences (HUMSS)
  • Science, Technology, and Mathematics (STEM)


St. Theresa’s College does not only promote academic excellence but it also seeks to effect an orientation and opportunity, sharing of goods and binding it all, the unity among people. Moreover, it aims to drawing forth socially oriented Christian attitudes, values and skills from students who in turn and in their own good time shall become agents of social change in the community where they live.

It is in this aspect that the community involvement program of STC was formed.

• It is one of the 3 components of Curriculum grid to work out the Social Orientation of the school. • It is the expression of the school’s missionary spirit as inspired by Mother Marie Louise de Meester in her apostolic zeal: LOVE FOR THE POOR. • It is meant to nurture the orientation of the school to raise the level of consciousness and commitment of the entire school community to be in constant dialogue with people in their aspirations and life values. • It is also meant to establish mutuality in relationship with partner communities, as our mission towards transformation. It is also meant to establish mutuality in relationship with partner communities, as our mission towards transformation


STC expanded its network, strengthened existing partnerships and opening up new ones. The challenge is how to maximize these to benefit STC’s institutional renewal and effectiveness.

STC-Cebu Foundation Inc. (STCCFI)
St. Theresa’s Alumni Association (STAA)
STC Parent’s Council
Cebu Educational Development Foundation for IT Education (CEDF-IT)
SME Network Philippines Training Center Inc.
Wonkwang Health Sciences University
Cebu Chamber of Commerce & Industry
Mandaue Chamber of Commerce & Industry
Department of Social Welfare & Development
Cebu City Rivers Management Council
Cebu Academe Network
Kaabag sa Sugbo
Philippine Association of Extension Program Implementers (PAEPI)
Cebu Uniting for Sustainable Waters (CUSW)
Natural Farming Technology & Education Center (NAFTEC)
Stop Abuse of Minors Association (SAMA)
Visayan Forum
Share-A-Child Movement